During his lifetime, but after his death as well, George Papanicolaou received hundreds of honorary awards.
The most important of them all, was the Lasker Award, the highest Medical award of United States. It was granted to him in 1950 by the American Government.
Unfortunately, he was not awarded with the Nobel Prize, even if he had been proposed five times (in 1948,1949,1951,1953 and in 1959). The committee rejected the proposal, on the grounds that rewards are given to the discovery of a treatment, rather than to a diagnostic method.

• Corresponding member of the Academy of Athens (1932)
• Honorary Doctor of Athens University (1949)
• Emeritus Professor of Clinical Anatomy and Director of the Papanicolaou Research Laboratory of the Department of Anatomy at Cornell University, New York
• Consultant in the Papanicolaou Cytologic Laboratory in the Department of Pathology, University Cornell of New York
• Consultant in the Prevention Clinic of Kate Depew Strang, Memorial Hospital of New York
• Emeritus consultant in the Pelvic Surgeons society
• Emeritus consultant in the Hospitals St. Luke’s of New York, North Shore of Long Island and Perth Amboy of New Jersey
• Member of Medical Advisory Institution, Medico
• Member of the Advisory Committee in the Department of Health of New York
• Honorary member of the American Society for the Study of Sterility
• Honorary member of Obstetrics and Gynaecological society of Athens
• Honorary member of Obstetrics and Gynaecological Society of Buenos Aires
• Honorary member of the Argentinian Congress on Cancer (1952)
• Honorary member of the Academy of Sciences of New York, of the American Union for the Promotion of Sciences, as well as of the Academy of Athens
• Honorary scholar of the American College of Clinical Pathologists, of the International College of Surgeons (1956) and of the James Ewing Society (1958)
• Honorary Chairman of the Society of Euboean Studies

• Honorary Awards from the Universities of Athens, Turin and the Hahnemann Medical College of Philadelphia
• Borden Award , of the Union of American Medical Colleges (1948)
• Amory Award, of the American Society of Arts and Sciences
• Lasker Award, of the American Society of Public Health (1950)
• Achepans Award , for the Most distinguished American Scientist of Greek origin (1951)
• Honorary Medal from American Anticancer Society (1952)
• The Vienna award of Exfoliative Cytology
• Grand Cross of Palm, granted to him by the King of Greeks, in December 1953
•Modern Medicine Award for distinguished Achievements (1954)
•Bertner Award (1955)
• Passano Award (1956)
• Honorary Reward from the German Gynaecological Company, 1956
• Honorary Award from the Annex of the American Anticancer Society, State of Virginia (1956)
• Alvarenga Award (1957)
• Gold Medal of the Greek Red Cross (1957)
• Cross of Battalion of Georges the 1st, that was granted to him by the Greek Government, in April 1957
• Honorary Award from the Cytologic Society of Brazil (1957)
• Clement Cleveland Award , 1960
• United Nations, Award, 1962